Saturday, September 18, 2010

¡Pura Vida!

"Pura Vida" literally translates to "The Pure Life" and is Costa Rica's motto. To be honest, Puerto Viejo was the first place that I actually felt this to be a true motto. The place was absolutely stunning! One of the host mothers here and her niece/niece's friend invited us to come along for the weekend! Puerto Viejo is located in the Costa Rican providence of Limón and is in the SouthEast corner of the country almost down to Panama. Since it is on the Caribbean side, the sand is so white and the water is so clear, blue, and warm.
We left at 5:00 in the morning and as we got closer to our stay we were driving along the ocean and it was absolutely beautiful! There were hammocks every where and just so relaxing. The first night we were there we stayed in a place called Rancho Tranquillo. It was essentially a cabin with a kitchen, bathrooms, lots of beds, and a hammock inside! There was a pool and a hot tub (all in the middle of the jungle, basically) and a grill. So when we got there we headed to the grocery store to get some stuff for lunch and then it was off to Puerto Viejo! Puerto Viejo is more of the "tourist" beach and was lined with little shops along the side of locals trying to sell bracelets, earrings, sarongs, hair weaves, etc. We ended up stumbling upon a man who was making snow cones (shaving the ice right there on the cart) and decided we wanted one. Little did we know it was going to be the best snow cone EVER! In Costa Rica they put condensed milk and caramel on top of their snow cones (I can never remember the name) but it was honestly SOO delicious.. the girls and I decided we are going to start selling them up in the states as our summer job =)So we just spent the day wandering around, reading in the sun, and playing in the extremely warm water.. it was just about perfect! That night we played in the pool and looked at the STARS! ah it was soo amazing to see stars again and not just rain clouds! (Which it didn't rain once while we were there, so refreshing!!) And we grilled a dinner with carne, chicken, veggies, and a whole bunch of other stuff. This was the first time that the carne actually tasted like steak from the States. Needles to say, I was pretty happy. Then we went back down to the beach area by the bars and sat on the beach, danced, people watched, all that good stuff! There was a reggae band playing and everything was just so relaxed. However, for some reason my cold decided to come back full force after dinner and I was very tired and not feeling well, so that wasn't much fun.The next day we headed out to Punta Uva (a beach about 10 minutes more South). For this night we stayed in a place that was right on the beach =) This beach was a little bit more private and didn't have any stores or anything near by. Again, just absolutely gorgeous! While here, we met a lady that is from Colorado and we got to play with her ADORABLE little boy, Immanuel. She came to Costa Rica about 10 years ago for vacation and when she got back to the States she told us that she was like, "why stay here when I know there is something as beautiful as Punta Uva waiting for me?" So she moved down, met her husband, as has been there ever since!
Of course I would find a baby and have to play with him =)

That night we decided to have a bonfire on the beach. This was also absolutely amazing (I think you understand how much I enjoyed this weekend!!) We got some snacks and introduced the Ticos (Costa Ricans) to smores! We also cooked them hot dogs over the fire, but after Meghan put in so much effort, we were only able to enjoy 3 and a half of the 8 hot dogs =) Anywho, they LOVED the smores! (So did I) Definitely reminded me of home! So we just sat around the fire in the sand and looked at the stars and listened to the waves of the ocean, it was definitely relaxing!
The next day was our last day, but we didn't have to leave until about 3:00, so Kathy (the niece) Kelly, Meghan and I rented some bikes! We rented the bikes so that Kathy could take us to Manzanill0, one of her favorite beaches. This is about another 10 minute drive South of Punta Uva. Again, gorgeous, but I think I liked Punta Uva the best because Manzanillo was pretty rocky. Kathy took us to this little area called the piscinita (which literally means little pool) and it was a big tree that was hanging over the water and it was not rocky at all in the water underneath the tree. We also actually got to see some monkeys hanging in the trees on our bike ride! It was very sad to be leaving this beautiful place, but we all knew it had to end some time and we had to head back to reality and school. Thank God for amazingly beautiful, relaxing weekends, though, otherwise I'm not so sure how well I would survive the school weeks!
This week was a short one, though! Since we were in Puerto Viejo, we were not at school on Monday. Then, Tuesday at my school was a parade and celebration for Día de Independencia de Costa Rica!
Wednesday was the actual day of Costa Rica's Independence, so we none of us had school, and then Thursday and Friday were back to normal. Well, almost normal. My school puts on this big Christmas Program in the end of November and they are already rehearsing for it a lot! So yesterday, I got to listen to Christmas music in Spanish ALLLL day long. It is definitely a bit early to be listening to it, but also got me very excited realizing that I will be back at home in the States when Christmas is here! =)
On Wednesday I went with some of my host sisters to their uncle's house. Their family gatherings are very similar to ours, but with A LOT less food! haha They set up karaoke, they were all singing and dancing, and drinking wine and enjoying each other's company. I also had the opportunity to go an "American School". The girls cousin, Andrea, works at this school. What it is: Preschool all the way until senior year where everything is taught in English (well the younger grades some is still in Spanish). When the students graduate, they will have not only their high school diploma from Costa Rica, but from the United States as well. The school is HUGE and looks like a college campus. It costs a lot of money to go there and Andrea told me that it is mostly the kids whose parents own the KFC's and Pizza Hut's and etc. down here. And let me tell you, they LOVEEE some KFC down here haha. I told her that I would really like to observe her while I am here since she is the preschool teacher and she told me she is going to talk to her supervisor and let me know! I actually only have 2 weeks left at the Montessori and then I move to my second placement, Las Huellitas (the footprints), a preschool pretty close to my house. I am actually pretty excited for a change in pace!I am also very excited because HANNAH AND JOSH COME IN 2 AND A HALF WEEKS!!! Also, my friend Hollie is coming with them, too!! It will be very nice to see some family, and it is half way through my stay here, so it will be a good refresher to get me through the last half =)Another thing I was excited about was that I got to watch Anthony's hockey game last night on the internet! (Yes, my internet actually worked long enough and good enough for me to watch!) Crazy how far technology has come that I can watch a college hockey game from a different country!Anywhooo, tonight I am going to an Argentinian tango show/dinner with my host sisters in San Jose. I am very excited to see this, I think it is going to be very cool!

Puerto Viejo
Meghan and ISunrise
ManzanilloEverything here is very Bob Marley/Rasta inspired.. including the trees!

I love and miss everyone SOO much, but weeks are flying by and I am going to be home before I know it! I officially booked my flight and I will be landing in Oklahoma City on December 1st at 5:30 PM and spending some time with Anthony before catching a ride with Allie back up to the good ol state of WISCONSIN!

No comments:

Post a Comment